Main Content

2023 nursing and midwifery students recognised for excellence

2023 nursing and midwifery students recognised for excellence

Every year ANMF (Vic Branch) recognises Victorian nursing and midwifery students who demonstrate exemplary skills and qualities intrinsic to practice.

In 2023, forty-eight students were awarded the Aware Super/ANMF (Vic Branch) student awards.

Students were nominated by their institutions for their results and personal attributes such as diligence, leadership and communication skills. We received nominations such as:

‘Her success in bridging theory and real-world/workplace practice highlights her dedication and adaptability.’

‘N– is always willing to extend help to others in need and always thinking of the well-being of others within her team.’

‘B– is highly motivated in advancing knowledge for professional nursing practice, evidenced by his academic performance and clinical placement reports.’

‘He has a positive attitude and happy demeanour and is a joy to teach.’

‘C– demonstrates sound clinical reasoning, resilience, kindness and commitment to best patient/woman centred care.’

Grant recipients

Additionally, PhD student Rachel McKittrick was awarded the ANMF (Vic Branch) $10,000 Annual Higher Education and Research Grant for her research, ‘The characteristics and care needs of older Victorians requiring home-based aged care’, which examines the skills-mix requirements for home based aged care with high and complex care needs.

Rachel’s research aims to address the minimal evidence that is currently available regarding the direct care workforce skill-mix requirements to deliver quality, safe home-based aged care.

The Vi Elliott Occupational Health Nurses Trust grant was awarded to Olatunji Falano and Tim Miravalles. The grant is for attending conferences, seminars or workshops, or to undertake an education course or a research project in the field of health and safety.

Congratulations to all recipients.

Recipient list

Diploma of Nursing

  • Shannon Stubbs – Kangan Institute, Bendigo
  • Grace Hackett – Kangan Institute, Essendon
  • Kyle Gaffee – Box Hill Institute
  • Aristomeni Capa – EmployEase Pty Ltd
  • Leah Jacobson – Federation University, Mt Helen
  • Tammy McDonald – Federation University, Wimmera
  • Carla Knowles – The Gordon, Geelong City
  • Olivia Slattery – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE, Echuca
  • Sian Jones – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE, Seymour
  • Anthony Trapani – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE, Shepparton
  • Kerrie Hook – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE, Wangaratta
  • William Wai Loon Kok – Holmesglen, CBD
  • Lincoln Brannan – Holmesglen, Moorabbin
  • Grace Patten – Partners in Training Australia, Sale
  • Tanika Cooper – RMIT University, Bundoora
  • Karyn Hassett – South West TAFE, Hamilton
  • Emily McKenzie – South West TAFE, Warrnambool
  • Ashley Nichols-Gathercole – Sunraysia Institute of TAFE, Mildura
  • Teagan Jones – Sunraysia Institute of TAFE, Swan Hill
  • Rebecca Skiba – Swinburne University of Technology, Wantirna
  • Natasha Curtis – TAFE Gippsland, Bairnsdale
  • Amy Tagliaferro – TAFE Gippsland, Leongatha
  • Brianna Lee Robinson – TAFE Gippsland, Morwell
  • Ayla Fowler – TAFE Gippsland, Warragul
  • Chenae Slater – Victorian Fitness Academy
  • Julius Caitano Godinho – Victoria University Polytechnic, St Albans
  • Andrew Nguyen-Le – Victoria University Polytechnic, Sunshine
  • Chaya James – Victoria University Polytechnic, Werribee
  • Sarah McLean – Wodonga Institute of TAFE

Bachelor of Nursing

  • Tianxin (Eric) Zou – Australian Catholic University College, Ballarat
  • Verity Newton – Australian Catholic University College, Fitzroy
  • Kylie Page – Charles Sturt University, Albury Wodonga
  • Jonathan Hedt – Deakin University, Geelong Waterfront
  • Gabrielle Louise Cameron – Deakin University, Warrnambool
  • Jayanne Johnson – Deakin University, NIKERI institute
  • Rebecca Elizabeth Dunne – Deakin University, Burwood
  • Babak Zamani – Federation University, Berwick
  • Zoe Mitrovic – Federation University, Gippsland
  • Meghan King – Federation University, Mt Helen
  • Sunny Singh Attri – Holmesglen, Moorabbin
  • Ruby Williams – La Trobe University, Bendigo
  • Jack Mizzi – La Trobe University, Bundoora
  • Gabrielle Gray – La Trobe University, Mildura
  • Daryl Alicia Skahill – La Trobe University, Albury Wodonga
  • Celeste James – La Trobe University, Shepparton
  • Terri Czompo – RMIT, Bundoora

Bachelor of Nursing and Midwifery

  • Chelsea Hicks – La Trobe University – Bendigo
  • Rachel Lawrence – La Trobe University – Bundoora

Photo gallery