Main Content

The eight safety and quality standards

The eight safety and quality standards

The second edition of the NSQHS Standards was released in November 2017. ANMF (Vic Branch) hosted the 'Implementation of the National Safety and Quality Health Service Standards (2nd Edition) Symposium' in March 2018.

There are eight National Safety & Quality in Healthcare Standards in the second edition, incorporating 148 actions, in these areas:

  1. Clinical governance
  2. Partnering with consumers
  3. Preventing and controlling healthcare-associated infection
  4. Medication safety
  5. Comprehensive care
  6. Communicating for safety
  7. Blood management
  8. Recognising and responding to clinical deterioration

The Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare has produced fact sheets on implementing each of the standards, as well as an overview of clinical governance for nurses and midwives.