Main Content

Student nurses and midwives awarded for their excellence

Student nurses and midwives awarded for their excellence

2019 ANMF Student Awards. Photo by Chris Hopkins

Over fifty nursing and midwifery students were awarded a 2019 First State Super/ANMF (Vic Branch) student award at our Annual General Meeting on Thursday 12 December.

Branch Secretary Lisa Fitzpatrick said recipients were selected for their strong academic record and personal qualities intrinsic to nursing and midwifery such as their leadership and communication skills.

‘It’s inspiring to see the high calibre of these future nurses and midwives. They demonstrated not just a strong academic record, but also empathy and initiative –  qualities which will hold them in good stead when they begin their careers.

‘We welcome you all and we feel confident the nursing and midwifery professions are in good hands.’

Melissa Bodycoat, Manager Strategic Partnerships at award sponsor First State Super, commended the students for their dedication particularly those who had changed profession or had juggled family or caring commitments while they studied.

‘It is such an honour to play a small role in recognising the achievements of these students who have chosen to do such important work for our community.’

Congratulations to all recipients.

Diploma of Nursing

  • Tracey Anne Anderson, Partners in Training Australia – Sale
  • Tammy Jackie Buxton, Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Seymour
  • Kimberley Byrne, Skills Training Australia
  • Rebecca Canobie, Federation Training – Warragul
  • Ella Angela Carillo, Australian Centre of Further Education
  • Sam Lai Hong Chan, ACU College – Melbourne
  • Aney Dahal, Australasian Lawrence Aged Care College (ALACC)
  • Crystal Devenish, RMIT University – City
  • Kerrie Hughes, Bendigo Regional Institute of TAFE
  • Nadia Kabbout, RMIT University – Bundoora
  • Robyn Moore, Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Benalla
  • Jade O’Brien, Partners in Training Australia – Shepparton
  • Carmen Olm, Federation Training – Leongatha
  • Habon Omar, Swinburne University of Technology – Wantirna
  • Jonathan Protasio, Partners in Training Australia – Melbourne
  • Kara Anne Roberts, Gordon Institute of TAFE – Geelong
  • Lainie Fai Ryan, South West Institute of TAFE – Hamilton
  • Amelia Smith, South West Institute of TAFE – Warrnambool
  • Aimee Stanyer, Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Shepparton
  • Bennett John Stevenson, Holmesglen Moorabbin
  • Julie-Ann Thomas, Federation Training – Bairnsdale
  • Sandeep Kaur Uppal, Institute of Health & Nursing Australia (IHNA)
  • Glenn Robert Whymark, Federation University – Ballarat
  • Ebony Leigh Young, Victorian Fitness Academy
  • John Young, Federation Training – Morwell

Bachelor of Nursing

  • Darcy Amos, Deakin University – Burwood
  • Amy Louise Brooks, Monash University – Clayton
  • Joshua Israel Contaoi, Victoria University – St Albans
  • Lyndel Echter, La Trobe University – Bundoora
  • Sasha Hayes, Deakin University – Warrnambool
  • Peter Horvath, Federation University – Ballarat
  • Amy Humme, Swinburne University of Technology – Wantirna
  • Jacalyn Job, Australian Catholic University – Ballarat
  • Nicholas Lancaster, Deakin University – Waterfront
  • Hannah Lucas, La Trobe University – Bendigo
  • Concettina Malcotti, La Trobe University – Mildura
  • Seamus McAnelly, Australian Catholic University – Melbourne
  • Bass Jophes Quilliam, RMIT University – Bundoora
  • Rebecca Salton-Dodd, Monash University – Peninsula
    (Rebecca also received a 2017 First State Super/ ANMF (Vic Branch) Student Award at the end of her Diploma of Nursing studies)
  • Sheeja Samuel, La Trobe University – Albury Wodonga
  • Adam Wight, Federation University – Gippsland
  • Matthew Woodcock, La Trobe University – Shepparton

Bachelor of Midwifery

  • Kate Evans, Australian Catholic University – Melbourne

Bachelor of Nursing & Midwifery

  • Heidi Beaton, Deakin University – Burwood
  • Connie Bonadio, La Trobe University – Bundoora
  • Maddalyn Chapman, La Trobe University – Bendigo
  • Jessica Smith, Deakin University – Warrnambool
  • Alice Rose Telford, Deakin University – Waterfront
  • Taylor Maree Warde, Monash University – Clayton

Bachelor of Nursing/Bachelor of Paramedicine

  • Mary Cole, Australian Catholic University – Ballarat

Master of Nursing Science

  • Angus Andrew Cooper, The University of Melbourne

Master of Nursing Practice

  • Codie Reupert-Allen, Monash University – Clayton

Photo gallery