Main Content

Campaign update 4: Key issues and standalone community health centres

Campaign update 4: Key issues and standalone community health centres

2020 public sector enterprise agreement

2020 public sector EBA campaign update 4

Negotiations for the new public sector EBA continued on 20 and 28 January 2020. Member responses to the annual leave survey were overwhelming and we thank members for their support.

Key issues discussed at the latest negotiations included:

  • the ANMF claim for hospitals to implement a software solution to ensure that each ward and unit has sufficient staffing budget to meet nurse/midwife: patient ratios and leave from its base staffing; that each health service’s pool staffing is sufficient to meet foreseeable absences; and that rostering and supplementary staffing solutions are managed electronically as an efficiency improvement
  • how to manage the myriad of long service leave entitlements, which differ depending on whether you are an enrolled nurse, a registered nurse or a midwife, whether you are casual or permanent, and whether your long service leave is derived from the Victorian Long Service Leave Act 2018 or the EBA. Recognising the complexity makes understanding long service leave entitlements difficult, ANMF is seeking a simplified long service leave entitlement in the new EBA for all members
  • refining the systems in the EBA to manage conduct and performance issues
  • improved qualifications allowances to recognise the Certificate IV in Training and Assessment and Workplace Health and Safety
  • adding definitions for ‘ward’, ‘unit’ and ‘campus’ which is also proving to be complex. Many provisions of the existing EBA refer to ward, unit and campus but there have never been any associated definitions.

Negotiations continue on 3 February 2020. ANMF remains committed to making every effort to conclude a new EBA before the expiry of the current agreement on 31 March 2020. Future wage increases for the new EBA are contained in the current EBA and will be transferred across to the new EBA.

Standalone community health centres

ANMF is pleased to note that standalone community health centres have received correspondence from the Department of Health and Human Services that should enable us to move forward on a single EBA to cover the general public sector. Standalone community health centres are those not operated by a public hospital.

Members in the workplaces named below should shortly be issued with a Notice of Employee Representational Rights (a legal obligation on each employer) inviting employees to nominate their bargaining representative. ANMF is the default bargaining representative for members, and members need take no action.

  • Access Health & Community
  • Ballarat Community Health Centre
  • Banyule Community
  • Bellarine Community Health
  • Bendigo Community Health Service
  • Castlemaine District Community Health
  • Central Bayside Community Health
  • Cobaw Community Health Service
  • Cohealth Footscray
  • Connect Health & Community
  • Dpv Health
  • Each Social & Community
  • Gateway Health
  • Gippsland Lakes Complete Health
  • Grampians Community Health
  • Inspiro
  • IPC Health
  • Latrobe Community Health Service
  • Link Health & Community
  • Merri Health
  • Nexus Primary Health
  • Nillumbik Community Health
  • Northern District Community Health
  • Primary Care Connect
  • Star Health
  • Sunbury Community Health Centre
  • Sunraysia Community Health Services
  • Your Community Health

If you work in a standalone community health centre, and your employer is not named above, please contact us via

Standalone community health employers covered by the current EBA are:

  • Ballarat Community Health Centre
  • Banyule Community Health
  • Bellarine Community Health Ltd
  • Bendigo Community Health Service
  • Bentleigh Bayside Community Health Service Inc
  • Carrington Health (formerly Whitehorse Community Health Service)
  • Castlemaine District Community Health Centre Inc
  • Central Bayside Community Health Services
  • Cobaw Community Health Service Ltd
  • Cohealth Ltd (amalgamation of Doutta Galla Community Health Service, North Yarra Community Health and Western Region Health Centre Ltd)
  • Darebin Community Health Service
  • Dianella Community Health
  • EACH Social and Community Health (amalgamation of Eastern Access Community Health Inc. and Knox Community Health Service Ltd)
  • Ensay Bush Nursing Centre Inc.
  • Gateway Health (formerly Ovens & King Community Health Service)
  • Gippsland Lakes Community Health (includes Nowa Nowa Community Health Service Inc.)
  • Grampians Community Health
  • healthAbility (formerly Nillumbik Community Health Service Ltd)
  • Inner East Community Health Service (formerly Manningham Community Health Service Ltd)
  • Inner South Community Health Service Ltd
  • Inspiro (formerly Ranges Community Health)
  • IPC Health
  • Latrobe Community Health Service
  • Link Health and Community (formerly Monashlink Community Health Service Ltd)
  • Macedon Ranges Health Services
  • Merri Health
  • Nexus Primary health (formerly Mitchell Community Health Service)
  • North Richmond Community Health Care Centre
  • Northern District Community Health
  • Plenty Valley Community Health Ltd
  • Primary Care Connect
  • Sunbury Community Health Centre
  • Sunraysia Community Health Services Ltd