Main Content

2021 top nursing and midwifery student award winners

2021 top nursing and midwifery student award winners

2021 ANMF student award winners. Photo: Chris Hopkins

After nearly two years of online events, it was a welcome relief to be able to have an in-person awards ceremony for our future nursing and midwifery leaders.

Forty-six nursing and midwifery students were awarded a 2021 Aware Super/ANMF (Vic Branch) student award at our Annual General Meeting on Thursday 9 December.

Branch Secretary Lisa Fitzpatrick stated that it was fantastic to be able to see winners in person, noting the happy and upbeat vibe of the evening.

Reflecting on the pandemic, she noted the difficult circumstances students faced with disruptions to their personal and academic lives for the last two years.

Students were nominated by their institutions for their results and personal attributes such as diligence, leadership, and communication skills.

A common theme in nominating statements were the students’ passion, dedication, and empathy.

“Anthony communicated in a calm, gentle, and yet assertive manner. The gentleness and calmness of his approach had been observed both in the classroom and in clinical placement. In the clinical placement, the patients felt reassured by his approach.”

“Cheyenne can demonstrate person centred care that upholds the dignity, rights and confidentiality that is underpinned by respect for individuals and their situations.  Cheyenne has planned care with consumers that is mindful of culturally safe practice that celebrates diversity.”

”Luke has proved himself to be a caring individual who has demonstrated concern for his fellow students and offers his support in Integrated Clinical Skills labs and in SIMs. His communication skills, grit and determination have marked him as one of the outstanding students.”

“Elise was passionate to learn the theory and clinical skills of nursing practice and was always striving to do her best, she was a natural at establishing caring therapeutic relationships.”

Congratulations to all recipients.

Diploma of Nursing

  • Sharon Walker, Australian Catholic University
  • Deepti Patel, Australasian Lawrence Aged Care College (ALACC)
  • Ebony Adara Glover, Bendigo TAFE
  • Cheyenne Kemsley, Federation University – Mt Helen
  • Rosie Hamilton-Grundy, Gordon Institute of TAFE – Geelong
  • Rachael Jean Peach, Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Benalla
  • Rachael Sarah Hallett, Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Seymour
  • Alesha Jade Palling, Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Wangaratta
  • Long Zhou, Holmesglen – Melbourne
  • Jocelyn Abella, Holmesglen – Moorabbin
  • Nancy Manfre, Kangan Institute – Moonee Ponds
  • Terri Ann Czompo, RMIT University – Bundoora
  • Indi Rose Blake, South West Institute of TAFE – Hamilton
  • Caitlin Cook, South West Institute of TAFE – Warrnambool
  • Francis Ikafanga, Sunraysia Institute of TAFE – Mildura
  • Elise Neeson, Sunraysia Institute of TAFE – Swan Hill
  • Elfie Karolina Hendrika Model, Swinburne University of Technology – Wantirna
  • Kimberly Baxter, TAFE Gippsland – Bairnsdale
  • Krista Matthews, TAFE Gippsland – Leongatha
  • Sasha Crump, TAFE Gippsland – Morwell
  • Casey King, TAFE Gippsland – Warragul
  • Anthony Stalio, Victoria University Polytechnic – Werribee
  • Casey Lee Teale, Victoria University Polytechnic – St Albans
  • Alanah Kay Padula, VFA Learning
  • Shannon-Lee Heffernan, Wodonga Institute of TAFE

Bachelor of Nursing

  • Lachlan Consiglio, Australian Catholic University
  • Rachelle Coolegem, Charles Sturt University – Albury-Wodonga
  • Julianne Beck, Deakin University – Burwood
  • Zoe Maree Hutchison, Deakin University – Warrnambool
  • Sian Iversen-Smith, Deakin University – Waterfront
  • Helen Spinney, National Indigenous Knowledges Education Research Innovation (NIKERI) Institute
  • Kiana Lester, Federation University – Gippsland
  • Luke Joyce, Holmesglen – Moorabbin
  • Claire Mangan, La Trobe University – Bendigo
  • Caleb Wilfrid Beilharz, La Trobe University – Bundoora
  • Elly Mae Witte, La Trobe University – Albury Wodonga
  • Bionda Pettigrew, La Trobe University – Shepparton
  • James Heberte, La Trobe University – Mildura
  • Inuri Upetha Gamlath, Monash University – Clayton
  • Kiera Geddes, Monash University – Peninsula
  • Anita Louise Capicchiano, RMIT University – Bundoora
  • Hayley Pollock, Swinburne University of Technology – Hawthorn

Bachelor of Midwifery

  • Catriona Fox, Australian Catholic University

Bachelor of Nursing & Midwifery

  • Emily Bennett, Deakin University – Burwood
  • Sarah Louise Botheras, Deakin University – Warrnambool
  • Jane Louise Burns, Deakin University – Waterfront
  • Sunday Weichmann, La Trobe University – Bundoora
  • Renee Watkins, Monash University – Peninsula

Master of Nursing Practice

  • Simone Laura-Jean Verde, Monash University – Clayton
  • Carole Jiang, University of Melbourne

Photo gallery