Main Content

2020 student nurses and midwives awarded for excellence

2020 student nurses and midwives awarded for excellence

ANMF President Maree Burgess presenting awards in our online ceremony.

While the COVID-19 pandemic has resulted in event cancellations, thanks to technology our annual student awards proceeded online.

Fifty-six nursing and midwifery students were awarded a 2020 Aware Super/ANMF (Vic Branch) student award as part our Annual General Meeting on Thursday 10 December.

Students were nominated by their institutions for their results and personal attributes such as diligence, leadership, communication skills.

Branch Secretary Lisa Fitzpatrick noted the difficult circumstances students faced this year with disruptions to their personal and academic lives due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

‘2020 is the international year of the nurse and the midwife. None of us appreciated what sort of year it would be.’

‘All of these students have demonstrated outstanding commitment to their studies, and they’ve done so during this extraordinarily difficult year to complete their studies.’

‘Some students also made us proud – juggling these pressures working as Registered Undergraduate Students Of Nursing (RUSONs) in health services and in pop-up testing clinics.’

‘We welcome you all to the profession and feel confident the nursing and midwifery professions are in good hands.’

Melissa Bodycoat, Manager Strategic Partnerships at long-time award sponsor Aware Super said that the awards were important for encouraging the next generation of nurses and midwives.

‘For many people, the decision to be a nurse or midwife is so much more about the need to ‘do good’ for the community than the want to be praised by the community.’

‘At Aware Super, we know how much the decisions at the beginning of your career count, which is why it is so important to show this next generation that they count from the very beginning.’

Congratulations to all recipients.

Recipient list

Diploma of Nursing

  • Alana Mamser – Skills Training Australia
  • Alka Jha – Victoria University Polytechnic – St Albans
  • Amelia Sinkinson-Lindsay – The Gordon Institute of TAFE – Geelong
  • Benjamin Turner – ACU College Ballarat – Aquinus
  • Birgit Valerie Vuckovic – The Gordon Institute of TAFE – Werribee
  • Brooke Jeffery – TAFE Gippsland – Warragul
  • Claire Leavold – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Benalla
  • Eboney Myriah Wolk – Wodonga Institute of TAFE
  • Emma Parry-Tuckerman – Bendigo Kangan Institute – Moonee Ponds
  • Faustina Sakyi – Institute of Health & Nursing Australia (IHNA)
  • Gurwinder Kaur – Chisholm Institute of TAFE – Berwick
  • Inna Coleen Javier – Job Training Institute
  • Isaac James Black – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Wangaratta
  • Jackie Borozan – Victoria University Polytechnic – Werribee
  • Jane Crowe – Partners in Training Australia – Shepparton
  • Jayde Di Blasio – VFA Learning
  • Karen Claffey – South West Institute of TAFE – Warrnambool
  • Kelly Wolfe – TAFE Gippsland – Leongatha
  • Maggie Frith – TAFE Gippsland – Morwell
  • Megan Hodgetts – South West Institute of TAFE – Hamilton
  • Naen Falla – TAFE Gippsland – Bairnsdale
  • Nicole Waight – Chisholm Institute of TAFE – Frankston
  • Rosslyn Fennell – ACU College – Melbourne
  • Sarah Deal – Skills Training Australia
  • Sharna Cummins-Hamilton – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Seymour
  • Siva Manikanta Reddy Velagala – Australasian Lawrence Aged Care College (ALACC)
  • Somayeh Bekyas – RMIT University – Bundoora
  • Steven Comer – Bendigo TAFE
  • Tara Matthews – Sunraysia Institute of TAFE – Swan Hill
  • Tracy Cunico – Partners in Training Australia – Sale
  • Tyler Letiese Ayars – Sunraysia Institute of TAFE – Mildura
  • Yingyi Wang – Swinburne University of Technology – Wantirna

Bachelor of Nursing

  • Angus Sandford – La Trobe University- Mildura
  • Cameron Damster – Swinburne University of Technology – Hawthorn
  • Claudia Bryan – La Trobe University- Albury Wodonga
  • Erica Prowd – Monash University – Peninsula
  • Eva Belle Gauci – La Trobe University- Shepparton
  • Irene Kelly – National Indigenous Knowledges Education Research Innovation (NIKERI) Institute
  • Jessica McLean – RMIT University – Bundoora
  • Jodi Bloink – Federation University – Mt Helen
  • Johanna Dobson – Deakin University – Burwood
  • Keith Dwyer – Monash University – Clayton
  • Marcus Rosse – Federation University – Berwick
  • Melinda Di Natale – ACU – Fitzroy
  • Mon Torio – Deakin University – Waterfront
  • Rachel Schreuder – Federation University – Gippsland
  • Rebecca McCullough – Deakin University – Warrnambool
  • Stacey Rigney – La Trobe University – Bundoora
  • Tara Mackay – La Trobe University – Bendigo

Bachelor of Midwifery

  • Rowena Coe – ACU – Fitzroy

Bachelor of Nursing & Midwifery

  • Amelia Annaliese Fox – La Trobe University – Bendigo
  • Aoife O’Sullivan – Deakin University – Warrnambool
  • Chiara Caruana – Deakin University – Waterfront
  • Hannah Humphries – Monash University – Peninsula
  • Jessica Williams – Deakin University – Burwood

Master of Nursing Practice

  • Amy Laura Stone – Monash University – Clayton