Main Content

45 nursing and midwifery students recognised for excellence

45 nursing and midwifery students recognised for excellence

2018 First State Super/ANMF (Vic Branch) student award winners. Photo by Chris Hopkins

The future of nursing and midwifery is in good hands, judging by the quality of the recipients of the 2018 First State Super/ANMF (Vic Branch) student awards.

Forty-five diploma and bachelor students were presented with their award at our Annual General Meeting on Thursday 13 December at the Carson Conference Centre.

Branch Secretary Lisa Fitzpatrick praised the recipients for their strong academic record and noted they also demonstrated personal qualities intrinsic to nursing and midwifery.

‘They all achieved high academic results, but they also showed leadership, an ability to develop a good rapport with patients and staff, a caring and emphatic manner towards patients and relatives, and were supportive of their peers.

‘I believe that the future of our professions is in very good hands if these final year students are anything to go by.’

Melissa Bodycoat, Manager Strategic Partnerships at First State Super, the award’s sponsor, was equally effusive in her praise.

‘I can see many of you stepping into your first job and for some of you perhaps your first real job and hopefully a dream job and a lifelong career.’

Ms Bodycoat also paid tribute to winners for whom nursing and midwifery was a career change, acknowledging their ‘leap of faith’.

As part of the AGM agenda, the Vi Elliott award for nurses who keep workplaces healthy and safe was awarded to two beneficiaries.

Jodie Savage (pictured) received $3000 towards her study of the Graduate Diploma of Occupational Health and Safety. Ms Savage intends to continue her work within health care facilities to improve safety for nurses and midwives and educating nurses and nurse unit managers about safety.

Sandra Code was awarded $750 towards the registration cost of the recent Australian and New Zealand Society of Occupational Medicine (ANZSOM) annual scientific meeting. Ms Code has been a treasurer of the ANZSOM Victoria/Tasmania branch committee.

2018 First State Super/ ANMF (Vic Branch) Student Award recipients

Congratulations to all recipients and welcome to the profession.

Diploma of Nursing

  • Sharee Allen – Chisholm Institute of TAFE – Frankston
  • Sally Brown – Gordon Institute of TAFE – Geelong
  • Alisha Chauhan Chhetri – Skills Training Australia – Melbourne
  • Michelle Cox – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Wangaratta
  • Sarita Dahal – Australasian Lawrence Aged Care College (ALACC)
  • Janelle Darcy – South West Institute of TAFE – Warrnambool
  • Raelee Eenjes – Bendigo TAFE (Bendigo Regional Institute of TAFE)
  • Rachael Elhay – Victoria University of TAFE Division – Werribee
  • Jodie Frost – Federation Training – Warragul
  • Bethany Galar – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Shepparton
  • Tracey Harper – Menzies Institute of Technology
  • Nicole Hirt – Navitas Health Skills Australia – City
  • Tameika–Lea Howe – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Benalla
  • Abbey Love – Australian Catholic University (ACU College)
  • Julie McCleary-Schnoor – Federation Training – Leongatha
  • Gabrielle McConville – Victoria University of TAFE Division – St Albans
  • Alicia Peach – South West Institute of TAFE – Hamilton
  • Jane Pert – Federation University – Ballarat
  • Anh Phan – RMIT University – Bundoora
  • Roxanne Riley – Kangan Institute
  • Palve Rosuljas – Holmesglen
  • Madeline Scalpello – RMIT University – City
  • Abdulwahid Shittu – Institute of Health & Nursing Australia (IHNA) Health Careers
  • Rosalie Stewart – Think Education
  • Shelby Walsh – Partners in Training Australia – Shepparton
  • James Whitworth – Box Hill Institute (of TAFE)
  • Kelly Wilkinson – Goulburn Ovens Institute of TAFE – Seymour

Bachelor of Nursing

  • Guy Adams – Australian Catholic University – Fitzroy
  • Najem Aldorki – La Trobe University- Bendigo
  • Ilinka Risteska Budzhakovska – Holmesglen
  • Taylah Cirillo – La Trobe University- Shepparton
  • Elle Lampard – La Trobe University- Mildura
  • Tianjiao Daniel Liu – Federation University – Ballarat
  • Faith Ofolu – RMIT University – Bundoora
  • Ana Popovska – The University of Melbourne
  • Katie Power – Victoria University
  • Sammy-Jo Sly – La Trobe University-Wodonga
  • Belinda Taylor – Monash University – Peninsula
  • Dominique Wren – Australian Catholic University – Ballarat

Bachelor of Midwifery

  • Jasmine Barkes – Australian Catholic University – Fitzroy
  • Amy Moynihan-Benson – Victoria University
  • Tristesse Perrott – Deakin University – Waterfront
  • Yasmine Thorne-Houssein – Deakin University – Warrnambool

Bachelor of Nursing & Midwifery

  • Maryia Williams – Monash University – Peninsula

Bachelor of Nursing/Bachelor of Paramedicine                   

  • Brittany Stafford – Australian Catholic University – Ballarat

Photo gallery